Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

25th Annual Dr.Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration and Virtual Festival

January 18 @ 5:30 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on January 17, 2021 at 5:30 pm

One event on January 18, 2021 at 5:30 pm

Yale’s Peabody Museum of Natural History celebrates Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. This year’s event focuses on pressing issues of racial and environmental justice while also honoring the legacy of Dr. King.

The programs of the celebration testify to the art of storytelling as a form of resistance, the importance of remembrance, and the liberating power of imagining new futures together.

Thursday, January 14: 5:30 pm Eastern. 4:30pm Central, 2:30pm Pacific
A founders’ welcome followed by a roundtable discussion focused on climate justice, racial equity, arts in movement building, and Afrofuturism.
Register on Zoom or watch on Facebook or YouTube.
Register on Zoom or watch the broadcast live on our Facebook Page and YouTube Channel

Friday, January 15, 1pm Eastern, 12 noon Central, 10am Pacific
Birds in Your Backyard! A Collections Tour of Winter CT Birds: a rare, behind-the-scenes collection tour to learn about native birds that can be seen right now in local parks and backyards.
Register on Zoom or watch on Facebook or YouTube.

Sunday, January 17 6pm Eastern, 5pm Central, 3pm Pacific
MLK Poetry Jam:  an evening of poetry and spoken word performances, starting with Open Mic and followed by tribute & featured poets.
Register on Zoom or watch on Facebook or YouTube.

Monday, January 18: Family Programs hosted by the New Haven Museum

Storytelling & Recollection Connections 10am Eastern, 9am Central, 7am Pacific 
Register on Eventbrite or watch on Facebook or YouTube.

Social Injustices: Black Librarians as Change Agents  11am Eastern, 9am Central, 7am Pacific 
A conversation about Dr. King’s legacy and the role of Black librarians in fighting social injustice.
Watch on Facebook or YouTube.

A Youth Roundtable: The Future of Organizing Work 1pm Eastern, 12noon Central, 10am Pacific 
Local youth organizers gather to discuss Dr. King’s legacy and the future of organizing. Register on Zoom: Pre-Registration required.

Details

Date:
January 18
Time:
5:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,
Website:
https://peabody.yale.edu/events/mlk-celebration

Venue

FL United States